Stroll, Don’t Sprint.

Stroll: to walk leisurely as inclination directs.

I always feel so rushed during the summer, which seems very strange as so many use the summer as an opportunity to unwind and relax. Many see the copious amounts of free time as all the time in the world, but I have started to see it as too much time. To me, there is so much free time that doing nothing but relaxing almost seems wasteful. I feel like I need to do something productive every day if I want to make something of the summer. Of course, I could use the unscheduled time to sleep the day away, but what  would I gain from 12+ hours of sleep a day?  I can only rest so much before becoming restless.

My goal for this summer is to stroll. I’m tired of sprinting. I have been sprinting for the past 9 months in school. Homework, quizzes, tests, projects, meetings, studying, appointments. Always having a deadline to meet. Don’t get me wrong, I love having a schedule during school. It helps me feel less overwhelmed. But as soon as I get out of school, the abrupt lack of stuff is overwhelming. All of a sudden, I’m left thinking, “Okay, now what?” I’m almost begging for someone to tell me what to do. But not this summer.

I’m going to stroll. I’m not going to worry about doing something extraordinary every day. I’m going to go where the wind takes me. I’m going to gain something this summer; whether it be new knowledge, a new talent, a new hobby, or a new friend.

I could wake up at the crack of dawn and watch the sunrise every day. I could go for a run. I could drive to a small town  and explore. I could learn how to play an instrument. I could learn how to paint. I could spend time with a different friend each day. I could write about something on my mind every day. I could spend all day reading.

The possibilities are endless…and I’m just going to stroll.

Stroll

Leave a Reply

